Older generations often hold some traditional ideas on the correct way of life, thought and behaviour. Most people argue that it is not helpful for younger generations to prepare for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ about whether traditional values and ideas held by older generations can help younger generations to adapt to the modern lifestyle. From my own perspective, traditional ideas and values are not obsolete in the present age. Many traditional values and beliefs are timeless virtues that are still strongly relevant today. In the first place, family is always important no matter it is the 18th century or the 21st century. Obviously, for most people, the only unconditional love that can be found lies in the family. In the second place, honesty should still be highly valued by modern people. This is true in that honesty and integrity play a pivotal role in modern-day society where trust is the basis of almost everything we do. Last but not least, respect for others is still important currently. There is no doubt that more people actually prefer being respected than being liked at any time. Yet some conservative ideas about the contemporary way of life might be reactionary. An illustration of this point would be that traditionally, women are not supposed to be high achievers in the society. Nevertheless, further analysis could clarify that the majority of traditional ideas are still beneficial today. Therefore, we should not abandon all traditional beliefs and values simply because of some old-fashioned components. The young should love, cherish and honour most conventional virtues and wisdom.