Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has become a recent trend that additional taxes are imposed on food and drinks that contain higher amounts of sugar by governments in many nations. While this system is controversial, I partially agree with this, for it has an incredible impact in deterring consumers from purchasing unhealthy products with the growing financial concerns in spite of an essential need for exercise to maintain individual well-being. On the one hand, higher taxes on sugary products are effective in encouraging more healthy choices of food and drinks among many consumers. In other words, they are more likely to choose organic food such as fresh vegetables and fruits, which contain more nutrients. As a result, the regular consumption of these healthy products leads to more healthy eating habits, reducing the risks of obesity and other diseases dramatically. Even those who are dependent on sweet soda and snacks in daily life will be forced to shift to other kinds of food that are less expensive due to the increasing concerns of their budget. Therefore, governments can expect an incredible transformation in the choice of food for the public when charging special taxes on them. On the other hand, imposing other taxes on sugary items is not a complete solution because of the general lack of motivation to maintain their well-being among people. Indeed, many people still remain uninterested in altering their behaviour to improve their health conditions in other ways with the mere increase of taxes on them. For instance, as long as they continue to have a sedentary lifestyle, spending many hours watching TV and playing games, successful outcomes will not be attained. Instead, authorities should incorporate other practical measures including promoting their exercise and providing education to raise their awareness toward their own health. Thus, governments should integrate various methods to promote the well-being of the citizens. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that a particular tax should be imposed on sugary products as consumers are encouraged to take more healthy food and drinks as it tightens their budget. However, governments are required to take a more varied approach to developing a healthy lifestyle.