Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that children should make their own decisions about everything on a daily basis, while others believe that this way might create selfish people in society. This essay aims to discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, children who make their own decisions about their lives are more likely to be confident than others. When parents give their children the freedom to take responsibility and decisions about everything that boosts their self-esteem. To illustrate this a kid who just decided everyday matters, it is said that the child has more confidence to choose anything and has responsibility for decisions. From my perspective, this method of raising children has a negative impact on their personality in the future because children like to have boundaries and learn them instead of giving orders or making decisions. On the other hand, some parents believe that this way of raising children is not good either for them or their personality. Children who just make decisions or give their opinions about everything they will grow up with give orders without thinking about others. Having said that this way also might lead to creating a narcissistic personality for children. For instance, psychologists have discovered that children who give their opinion about everything and make decisions about everything will lead to bad behaviour for children. From my point of view, children should know that their parents are the main once responsible for their decisions so they can share what they want with their parents and not only make decisions without them. In conclusion, people recently have argued that children should make their choices about all everyday matters because they believe that it is good for increasing their children ’s confidence and self-esteem. I believe that this method of raising children has a negative effect on their personality and creates a selfish individual in our community.