Write about the following topic. People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Life expentancy has increased over the decades and it has become a strongly debated topic. Nowadays, people are living more years than their own ancestors. This essay will focus on the positive and negative side of this issue in turn. The first point to consider is that increased life expentancy provides people with more knowledge to transmit to future sucessors successes. The world is changing in an overwhelming pace, enriching every population with different advancements and innovations. If people live longer lives, they will have the opportunity to educate themselves with innovative knowledge to teach future generations. This heritage holds an essential value for global progress. However, there are several drawbacks to take into consideration. Improving life expentancy can go hand in hand with fatal health conditions. What´s the point in living more years if the advent of illnesses prevent people from enjoying them? A very large portion of elderly citizens develops big health problems at the end of their lives, which leaves most of them bedridden. As a result, they miss the opportunity to enrich themselves with fulfilling experiences outside the comfort of their homes. However, it is important to mention that tecnological advancements can solve this problem by bringing enjoyment through digital devices and platforms to every family which faces this situation. To sum up, there has been a significantly rise in the number of years people live these days compared with past generations. While some citizens may see this trend as a great educational opportunity to teach more knowledge to future populations, others may find it dissapointing due to the health consequences associated with this phenomenon.