The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, most people prefer using sophisticated technology for communication with people such as Instagram or Facebook to offline meetings.I believe that the benefits of social media surpass its drawbacks. On the one hand, online contact has some drawbacks which lead to some problems in everyday life for social media users. Firstly, spending a lot of time in front of a screen may cause several urgent health issues such as eyesight problems which are the crucial problem of modern life. To illustrate, it is confirmed that individuals are more likely to have weak eyesight today than in 2000 because of electronic devices such as computers or telephones. Furthermore, another noticeable pitfall is psychological problems which make pupils isolated such as anxiety, low self-esteem etc. For instance, when people communicate with the help of social media platforms, they may use some filters which make them more beautiful or handsome and due to it, they do not want to show their real appearance, because users think that they are ugly and others do not like them. Moreover, another detrimental effect is that pupils are being more and more lazy by using the internet. For example, it is possible to get food and clothes online without any physical movement and it has led to a passive lifestyle which is the main reason for obesity. Despite above mentioned drawbacks, I contend that the advantages of the Internet are considerably greater. Among the tremendous benefits of social media strong relationships are the best ones. To illustrate, some applications such as Instagram or WhatsApp have profound contributions humanity to by strengthening family and friendship bonds. For example, some citizens can.not see each other very often because of some reasons such as long distance and in this situation, the internet assists people to see each other via video call. Additionally, another undeniable fact is that pupils especially the young generation have a great chance to make new friendships on Twitter or TikTok because in these apps youngsters share their thoughts, hobbies or interests and they help them to know people with the same mindset which is the perfect relation. In conclusion, there are clearly both positives and negatives to using social media. You need to weigh up the pros of geographical barriers, making new friendships and so on, and the cons of over-reliance and information hacking. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal awareness eventually outweigh any negatives.