Some people think that the best way to resolve environmental problems is to increase fuel and vehicles price. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is argued that the prices of fossil fuels and cars should be increased to address environmental issues. I do agree with that statement, which will be described below. It is my view that people are more likely to use private vehicles for transportation which contributes to pollution in urban areas. So increasing fuel prices may encourage commuters to use public transport such as metro trains and buses to save money. For instance, in Turkey, the high price of fuels leads individuals to use public transportation. Moreover, this strategy can have a significant impact not only on drivers but also on companies that produce carbon emissions, and they may be encouraged to use renewable energy sources such as wind or solar power instead of fossil fuels, which are more environmentally friendly. In contrast, some people claim that enhancing the price of fuel is an ineffective strategy since some people may use private cars despite the higher costs. They firmly insist that governments should raise public awareness about the consequences of emitting carbon dioxide in the environment to motivate people to use renewable energy sources or public transportation. I do not find this argument convincing as individuals often prefer the comfort of private cars, even when they are aware of the negative impact on the environment. In conclusion, I completely agree with raising the cost of fuel and cars because when people face financial difficulties, they will choose other ways to commute, such as buses, trains, and bicycles. Although they will be encouraged to choose renewable energy like solar energy rather than fuels.