Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other.

As contemporaries are confronted with increasingly intense competition, people are now reflecting on the meanings of competition for them. From my perspective, omnipresent competition is a double-edged sword, on the one hand, it can raise aggressiveness and hence individuals to obtain higher achievements; on the other hand, it will hinder individuals from recognising the importance of collaboration, leading to disproportionately focusing on competition with others. This disadvantage of competition has so often been overlooked, especially in some Asian countries as China, Japan, or South Korea, that citizens there are inclined to perceive classmates or colleagues as immediate competitors rather than potential partners who will bring a reciprocal relationship. One compelling example is seen in an appalling crime happening at Fudan University, where a student named Yao Jiaxin poisoned his roommate since he worried that the roommate "would" occupy his undergraduate opportunity. The abhorrent crime could have been totally different if the atmosphere of society had actively promoted people to develop the awareness of collaboration, instead of merely inculcating the idea that all others are competitors who are intended to deprive you of your chances. However, this does not suggest that competition can only bring adverse influences. On the contrary, as mentioned in the beginning, when controlled at an appropriate level, it is able to realise individuals ' potential and help them make achievements. This kind of illustration is myriad, one of which is Elon Musk, the earliest founder of Tesla and SpaceX. Musk once said one of motivations for establishing Tesla was that his counterparts serving for other automobile companies did not believe he would succeed, which ignited his aggressiveness and he made the determination to prove himself and defeat them. Obviously, out of proper motivations can competition help individuals achieve what they have not conceived before. In summary, competition is a double-edged sword. If people pursue objects with excessive aggressiveness, they presumably hurt both themselves and those surrounding them. Nevertheless, people do not have to be afraid of competitive awareness, when directed in the right direction, it can also contribute to individuals ' development.