Teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their communities. This is good foe the individuals concerned and society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree with htis view? Discuss, based on your own knowledge and experience.

These days young people are more active in academics and play a significant contribution to building up a healthy society. Though their primary role is to study solely, they are involved in many social activities. As a consequence, some people believe that sending young children to different unpaid works in their society must be required. Because they think it is a healthy practice for increasing their extracurricular involvement. However, I strongly disagree with the statement and believe that students should focus on study and research for the welfare of society and the country. To begin with, the primary duty of a student is to concentrate on his/her study. To acquire knowledge, they have to spend enough time in educational institutes, libraries, or homes, where they can get a proper environment. Moreover, every undergraduate has to face a number of exams in their schools or colleges. Thus, they always have a hectic schedule in their life. For example, at Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University, every student in the Veterinary department has to appear in at least 47 class tests in a 6-month semester. Additionally, they need to do many assignments, lab experiments, presentations, and writing practical notebooks. As a result, they could not get any extra time for doing other chores in their household let alone social work. When a student joins a volunteering group or charity group, he/she has to do a lot of duties and training, which may create an extra workload for anyone. Sometimes these groups send them to a distant location for various training, which costs a number of leave from their schools or colleges. Therefore, these students have faced critical situations resulting a bad grades on their exams. For instance, the Scout club is a volunteering group at Dhaka University, Bangladesh that takes members in every year and every member must do training at their camp for 3-5 days. Students who want to be members go there by applying for a leave from educational institutions. Hence, these students miss their classes including theoretical and practical leading to a poor understanding of these subjects in future. Although unpaid activity develops a lot of skills including leadership, organizing abilities, facing hardship, and so on, it hampers the main focus of students. Nevertheless, these skills can be developed by arranging academic scientific seminars, and conferences, and providing speeches in any function of institutes. If an institute arranges a scientific seminar by involving young energetic students, they can develop their skills in academics, research, and volunteering skills. Consequently, from the institutions, students can learn a wide range of skills which focus on education including leading a debate club, language club, and cultural programs in their premises. To conclude, charity unpaid work should not be obligated as students have to do a number of classes, preparing themselves for their final tests, and the extracurricular activities will be learned by arranging different educational programs in their respective institutes.