International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh this disadvantages.

There is no denying the fact that tourism plays a crucial role in every country's economy. Due to affordable travel, nations tend to invite more and more tourists to their countries. I believe that, though there are some demerits of tourism, the merits of the notion outweigh the opposing arguments. On the one hand, tourism leads to numerous benefits for societies. Firstly, tourism helps to boost a country's economy. It significantly contributes to the GDP of nations through the expenditures of tourists, which can help to create more jobs and opportunities. For example, research by Delhi University shows that Gujarat's economy boosted by 35% since the Statue of Unity was built. Secondly, increased tourism enhances cultural exchange between societies, encouraging the building of connections and brotherhood in the world and breaking down stereotypes. Last but not least, tourism also enhances infrastructure development. Governments will invest more in roads, airports, and public transportation to cater to tourists. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks that cannot be ignored. Because of the travelers, places will be overcrowded, which will affect the lives of local people. For example, it will increase traffic on the roads; this not only leads to air pollution but also to noise pollution. Moreover, sometimes tourists fail to respect local culture and traditions. They destroy historical sites and their beauty by throwing garbage and drawing on the sites. To conclude, every coin has two sides. After looking at both aspects of this issue, it is clear that tourism brings more benefits to countries; however, there are some demerits which can be tackled through some efforts and thought.