More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a vast majority of people have suffered overweight. Many individuals claim that to solve a problem is to elevate the price of fat-containing foods. However, this tendency has a detrimental impact on the economy, I mostly disagree that increasing prices can deter people from consuming unhealthy food. Admittedly, increased prices of fattening foods play an essential role in order to grapple with a problem. A major reason is that this phenomenon incentivizes people to healthier food choices. If they become intake naturally eatable, they will be healthier. For instance, in Finland, individuals tend to consume more nutrition-rich food because of the expensive cost of fast food. However, this tendency has a devastating impact on low-income families. This means that individuals who rely on cheaper, fatty foods to meet their regular diet face financial instability. Therefore, an increase in the price of fast food has not always lasting effect on the country. Additionally, the proponents of the view against an increase in the price of junk food suggest that it affects negatively the food industry. One of the obvious reasons is that the selling of fattening foods in fast food restaurants might decline owing to lower demand. As long as these businesses are able to experience a significant decrease in their income, they will pay little money to the country. Hence, it has a profound impact on not only fast- food chains but also the budget of the country. Furthermore, the authorities could implement some precautions rather than raising the price of fattening nutrients. As an example, in Turkey, advertising has been used to promote individuals which leads to mitigation of the overweight rate. Therefore, other solutions can help people to grapple with obesity. In conclusion, while a growth in the price of fatting nourishment could encourage individuals to healthier ones, I am of the opinion that this pattern has a profound influence on not only society but also the economy. Hence, there are better options in order to avoid obesity, such as raising public awareness.