People living in the 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed by many that in this 21st century, individuals across the globe are residing in better living conditions compared to those of the previous generations. The writer, however, remains unconvinced by this school of thought because of countless natural disasters coupled with the ever-rising living costs contemporarily. Initially, it must be recognized that during this 21st century, humans have faced numerous hazardous disasters annually. Since many human-induced activities in this day and age such as deforestation, land degradation, excessive use of private vehicles, and manufacturing industries result in severe damage to the natural environment, this leads to many changes in their living conditions. For instance, the massive usage of cars has led to carbon dioxide emissions, which in turn causes drought seriously affecting agriculture and leading to long-term starvation afterwards. Moreover, some developing countries, including Thailand, have estimated a notable increase in heavy rainfall rates recently and, therefore, are struggling with the problem of floods each year. Additionally, the constantly increasing costs of living must be taken into consideration. To clarify, having been away from external wars and conflicts, national economies in various nations have been developed significantly, thus authorities can improve social amenities such as medical centres, educational systems, infrastructure, and transportation to enhance citizens' living quality. These developments, nonetheless, require an enormous amount of investment to take place, consequently, governments are taxing heavily their local people. As a result, the present costs of living, especially those in metropolitan areas, are rising dramatically, thereby leading residents to deal with serious financial burdens and other problems. Specifically, the United Kingdom is a prime example of this, where citizens are obsessed with the ever-rising level of taxes every year, thus forcing some to opt for living abroad for their whole lives. In conclusion, it has been demonstrated that individuals are struggling with numerous issues related to their quality of life including natural dangers along with the rising required taxes these days. It is, furthermore, apparent that in the future, these tendencies will continue to occur, consequently threatening people's survival.