Nowadays, older people who need employment have to complete with younger people. What problems do this cause, and what are the solutions?

It is undeniable that a growing number of the elderly are faced with increasing competition from the youth in the workplace. This situation is causing challenges for both- the older and the younger workforce. This essay will explore the negative effects caused by this hot competition between the young and the old job seekers, and then present some suggestions to alleviate these potential problems. This competition among the young and the old workers can cause troubling effects on the senior workers. They might find it daunting to keep up with the latest advancements in technology. For example, in the manufacturing industry, the use of advanced machines is quite common. But, how to operate the equipment could be a tough challenge for older workers, whereas it may be simple and easy for their younger counterparts. Therefore, elderly employees might suffer both physically and psychologically, even if they secure reasonable jobs. Finally, if senior employees constitute the largest proportion of the company’s staff, then, it could lead to a decline in productivity and efficiency of the enterprise. On the other hand, the young graduates may also feel unmotivated and frustrated. Senior job candidates have rich experience and therefore they tend to outshine young adults. Young employees are relatively restricted in terms of work experience and communication skills, because of this some employers prefer to recruit older people with higher working efficiency rather than those who have just graduated from the university. Without a decent job and salary, it is extremely difficult for young people to make a living, and as a consequence of which, some of them might resort to crime to fulfil their desires. These problems can certainly be solved. Considering the severity of this problem, it is imperative for the government to encourage self-employment for fresh graduates, so that the young people get employment, and the older workers are not laid off. Governments should encourage businesses to create more jobs for less experienced young employees who will then have the opportunity to accumulate experience. Further, the governments should allocate more money to the pension system, which can basically guarantee the basic needs of most elders, so that they do not have to look for jobs. At the individual level, the elderly should plan ahead for their retirement and enjoy their retired life, instead of competing for the limited job vacancies. This would be a win-win option both for the aged and the young. To sum up, competition between both age groups for jobs will continue to be more intense, but some steps at the government and individual levels can help to lessen the severity of the situation.