Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economis development,but many important social values can be lost as a result . Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages ?

Economic development has become the biggest motive of every country worldwide. Through economic growth, most nations have the objective to ameliorate the standard of living, but it also contributes to exacerbating various social values. In my opinion, this has an equal degree of both advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, advancement in the finance of nations enhances job opportunities and people's living standards. Also, it contributes to various sectors such as healthcare, infrastructure, and education. For example, America has the largest economy on a global level; as a result, various institutes related to health, education, and banking are enlarged. Moreover, economic development fosters innovation and technological advancements, which is crucial for the worldwide recognition of a country. Thus, there are a plethora of merits regarding the development of the finances of countries. However, this development contributes to inequalities between rich and poor, as growth in the economies of countries mostly benefits prosperous sectors instead of middle-class and insolent people. Additionally, this development reduces cultural and social values as communities focus on changing to a materialistic life, which can create a hostile environment in society. For instance, research conducted by Oxford University suggested that people in developed countries with vast economies are less social and more materialistic. Therefore, economic development has many demerits, as it enlarges the social gap between poor and affluent groups and can create hostile surroundings. In conclusion, even though advancement in economies of nations improves different institutes such as education, infrastructure, and healthcare, we cannot deny its cons. The government should take responsibility to strike a balance between development in the economy and social values.