Some people think that machine translation is highly developed in today's society. Therefore, it is not necessary for students to learn a foreign language. What's your opinion?

Some individuals believe that machine translation development is high nowadays. Hence the learners do not need to take classes of foreign languages. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because speaking a foreign language simplifies communication and widen job opportunities. To begin with, teaching students a new language enables them to simplifies communication in a new country. If a student joins a new community and knows the community language, this gives him or her a sense of belonging since she/ he can hear, understand and respond well. It will be easy to bond with the natives than when you are using a translator. For example, when I visited Mbalala region in Uganda, I easily associated with them since I had learnt their language before going there. As a result, learners will always feel more comfortable when they are able to talk naturally with the natives than using machine translators. Moreover, knowing a new language will create job opportunities. This is because you are able to understand what is being mentioned during the interviews. And your employees will not be worried about how you will communicate with your colleagues and the community members. For instance, research done by James in 2008 at Bugema showed that if a person knows a foreign language where he stays, chances are high to get an employment. Therefore, the cost of living improves. In conclusion, even though phone translators are developed and very helpful, I disagree that foreign language should not be learnt due to the fact that communicating becomes simple and it increase the chances of employment.