These days a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples form your own knowledge or experience.

The last 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the popularity of complementary medicines for treating the symptoms of various diseases globally. Although alternative medicines have had a significant role in treating the symptoms of various ailments, from my perspective, consuming them by patients arbitrarily without any medicine prescription seems illogical. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that trying herbal remedies, the most common form of alternative medicines, entails a comprehensive investigation of their impact on the human body, otherwise it would result in irreparable expenses. Ginger could be accounted as a salient example of this, famous for reducing blood cholesterol by up to 50 per cent. However, if consumed by warm-tempered individuals, it would lead to high blood pressure or even worse heart attack. It is, therefore, necessary for patients to check the consequences of the taken method of treatment. More important, though, is the fact that turning to those alternative medicines would lead to losing the golden time, which, is crucial for treating some ailments by chemical medicines and ultimately the death of the patients. Although this method of treating is more affordable than chemical medicines and heals the problems at its root, it would be ineffective in emergency situations as this process demands a long time. So, consulting with specialists about pursuing the most effective way of treating is more advisable. By the way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that adherence to merely alternative medicines would result in the deterioration of the symptoms of the disease. According to recent research, a combination of both methods would lead to more beneficial consequences.