Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? (277)

An increasing number of people nowadays are willing to share their personal information with technological companies to gain access to the software. Although trading personal data for software can benefit people to facilitate them with explicit features, I believe that it can be dangerous due to the potential threat it can impose to the digital security of an individual. Exclusive features of a particular website enable people to accomplish their tasks in an easier manner which is one of the significant advantages of exchanging personal data for website. That is to say that there are numerous websites with specific coding that allow people to finish their tasks with convenience that could have had otherwise taken vigorous manual inputs. For instance, domain.ca is one of the famous software, especially benefiting individuals to build their website in a couple of minutes for their e-commerce business. However, I think that this trend outweighs disadvantages than advantages. One of the major drawbacks of sharing one’s own data such as email address, phone number or house address to get a software is that it unlocks the secrecy of a person. This is because if a company to which an information is disclosed is not legit can access banking details and can also misuse the data for their perspective benefit. For instance, it can be generally seen that corporations claiming to be legit are indulged in scamming people through text messages and fraud e-mails. For these reasons, the drawback of this scenario has a greater potential impact on the life of an individual. In conclusion, exchanging personal data for software provides people with advantages of finishing their task with ease; however, I think the disadvantage of misusing personal information by random companies outweighs its benefits.