Some people think that machine translation is highly developed in today's society. Therefore, it is not necessary for students to learn a foreign language. What's your opinion?

In today's world, machine translation has been improved in society, thus, many individuals think that learning a new language is not crucial for students. However, others claim that machine translation does not provide emotion in order to express feeling. Likewise, I am of the opinion that learning a foreign language is an unchangeable factor in the fast-paced world. On the one hand, proponents of the view claim that machine translation plays a significant role in the world. One of the major reasons is that it provides that individuals do not spend time learning vocabulary and grammar in order to communicate, therefore, they tend to use it to speak without wasting time. Additionally, when people travel to other countries, they need to learn a new language to explain their ideas. With machine translation, they are able to speak by pushing a button. For example, more and more people have a tendency to travel to new countries, and it is not possible to learn these countries' languages; as a result, via artificial translation, they do not need to devote their time to communicate. On the other hand, despite its advantages, acquiring a foreign language has a profound impact on students. One of the obvious reasons is that it enhances cognitive abilities, such as improving memory and multitasking. This means that since they learn a new language, their brain neurons become active in order to store information. Hence, machine translation can not substitute. From my point of view, it provides students to access a vast majority of literature, and research in its original form. The more languages they learn, the more knowledge they have. For instance, IT students often struggle to find papers based on cutting-edge technology in their mother language. Consequently, learning a new language not only fosters their cognitive abilities but also improves their domain knowledge. In conclusion, though machine translation saves time and people do not devote efforts to speaking other languages, I firmly claim that understanding a foreign language has a positive effect on the student, including better memory, and accessibility to a wide range of resources.