Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Multinational companies are spreading worldwide as their businesses are flourishing. There are several benefits and drawbacks of this. I will explain them in this essay with relevant examples. There is an increasing demand for big brands throughout the world, firstly, if someone is planning to buy any product from these big brands, they might have to travel to their specific country to purchase it from their stores, so they will have to include travelling cost as well as hotel stay in their budget, however, if these products are readily available in their own country so, this will save the cost of travelling and hotel booking. Furthermore, one will easily buy original products, directly from the store and the chances of selling fake products will be reduced. For instance, I wanted to buy a Rado watch for my father, so I was planning to get it from Dubai, however, as their original store was opened in my city, so I bought it from there, and this saved my travel expenses and I got the real product which I was looking for. The disadvantages of opening the branches in every country, somehow lower the value of the specific products, because the product will lose its charm, if it is readily available. To illustrate, Nike (shoe brand) has opened their several branches worldwide, and they have noticed a huge decline in their sales, as people lost their interest in Nike products, as they were readily available. Humans get attracted to the things which are rare and they feel happy and outclassed whenever they wear something which is unique. To conclude, opening multinational companies has numerous advantages for people, like saving travelling expenses and receiving the original product, however, one should not forget its disadvantages as well, which might have devastating effects on the businesses.