A lot of money is spent repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing these buildings, they should be knocked down and replaced with new ones. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a prevailing belief that instead of repairing old buildings, they should be demolished and replaced by new ones. While I concur that old buildings should be knocked down and replaced, those with longer historical lengths should be kept and restored for further educational purposes. On the one hand, remaining old buildings could disrupt the modern outlay of an area. Some buildings dated long ago were built in an outdated style that neither translates to the contemporary architectural preferences of modern citizens nor gives off the urban aesthetic provided by more modern buildings. For instance, having a cottage in the centre of a city does not integrate with the modern, minimalistic skyscrapers nearby. Besides, old buildings, even when repaired, do not sustain as high a level of safety as new ones, requiring cyclic restoration. Maintaining an old building thus is much more expensive than erecting a whole new one. That said, the necessity of removing old-fashioned buildings is not absolute. Historical buildings, like castles or churches, hold great educational and touristic potential. In other words, keeping them not only provides evidence for history learners but also allows for greater occupational opportunities and contributes to the nation’s economic growth. To illustrate, by sustaining villages, a Japanese region has attracted both students coming to learn and tourists visiting, facilitating the local employment and economy. In conclusion, whilst knocking down old buildings can better the municipal appearance, some buildings with high existing age should be maintained since it benefits society and empowers a more immersive learning experience.