Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern day and age, school students are expected to achieve academic excellence in order to have better professional opportunities in the future which has increased competition among students. Some parents find this competition a healthy and necessary trigger for their kids to accomplish great goals while others believe it causes unfavourable impacts on their children. People need to face challenges in order to bring the best out of them and it is an innate trait in human beings to be the best in their social circle. For example, the US and the Soviet Union both competed against each other for dominance in politics and scientific advancements and both countries were challenging each other to explore space and send an expedition to the moon. It can be denied that without this need to dominate and be the best, our human race would have not accomplished the great things it did over the years. However, while competition acts as the fuel that feeds our desire to be the best at what we do, it can harm our relationships with other people and cause significant stress and anxiety. In the previous example I mentioned regarding the US and The Soviet Union, the competition was not all peaceful and friendly, it led to an extensive disagreement between the two nations which eventually started a war. Furthermore, the continuous need to be the best compared to colleagues, can be overwhelming over time and cause distress. In conclusion, people need competition in order to improve and challenge themselves but,as everything in life, it has to be in moderation and toward a specific goal so we do not lose perspective and harm others.