In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

It is widely believed in some cultures that children are able to achieve everything they want if they work hard. I truly believe that saying this to children has only beneficial effects since it motivates individuals to try harder. Nevertheless, I will also discuss the disadvantages, such as one's depression which can occur after a failure, even despite the fact that a certain person did his best. Giving children this message can actually foster their development and dedication to their subjects or activities. When a kid understands the significance and importance of his hard work and all of its benefits, he will tend to try harder. Moreover, it is actually true that it mostly depends on our discipline; however, dedication is not the only factor in one's wealth. For example, in Kazakhstan, many schoolboys are told that their success fully depends on whether they are hard workers or not and it results in an increasing number of successful children who do not procrastinate. On the other hand, if a certain person spends a lot of time studying and learning and still does not get the desired result, it can instil a sense of anxiety and stress in him. Nowadays, parents often connect one's success to his discipline and it forms a child's worldview in an improper way. For instance, there are many applicants who were studying for 5 years straight and even more but they were not accepted in their dream university. Therefore, such a situation can lessen one's self-esteem and lead to a huge loss of confidence. In conclusion, although telling a child that trying hard is essential to achieve your dreams, I think that parents should not interpret everything this way since it can result in bad consequences and even diseases, such as depression. I am a firm believer that this technique needs a balanced approach and only then, this message will be worth trying.