Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, tourists to prefer visit museums and historical places, rather than inhabitants. Because travellers want to learn the national traditions and history of these cities. I will analyze the main reasons for this trend and suggest ideas to encourage local citizens to visit these areas more often. One main reason for the low attendance of local people to museums and old buildings is that they already visited them several times or even know some basic data about their history. Additionally, for local citizens places will be fascinating for foreign guests, as they are always accessible to natives. Moreover, local people often assume they can come to these places whenever they want, leading to low visitation rates. For example, Baku city with a famous historical and art museum, local people may have visited during school trips or family activities in their childhood. Therefore, they become familiar with exhibits and the museum’s history, paving the way for a sense of self-satisfaction. On the other hand, first-time tourists are excited to explore the museums, leading to high attendance rates among them, whereas local people. To solve this problem and to attract more attention from local residents, museums and historical sites should organize unexpected exhibitions that they have never seen before. For instance, overseas countries organise different exhibitions every year. They demonstrate very unusual, fascinating projects that are interesting not only to tourists, but also to locals because they have never seen anything like this before. To sum up, although most tourists prefer to visit museums, the government could attract the attention of residents by offering new and curious experiences.