The impact that growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people traveling by air is to increase taxes on flights. To what extent do you think this could solve the problem?

It is a topic of great debate that emission from air planes is deteriorating the environment, in order to, tackle this issue one of the proposed measures is to increase the taxes on buying plane tickets, so that commuters start avoiding this mode of transport. However, in my viewpoint this measure would help to some extent only and reasons to support my stance are elaborated in the following paragraphs. As a solution, we must focus on developing new technologies, which could help to ameliorate the pollution caused by the aeroplanes. To begin with, people find air travel convenient and time saving. In deed, it is a well known fact that an individual can travel up to far distances in a short span of time and in a relaxed manner. For example, according to a survey, about 25 per cent of the passengers prefer to use flights, because it saves their time and offers convenience. Thus, it is less likely to happen that people will stop using planes even after an increase in fares. Adding more to it, the lucrative offers given by airlines will keep on attracting customers. As a matter of fact, it has been seen that air companies in order to, attract more people give away discounts on tickets, which attract more commuters to use this mode of transportation. To illustrate, last year, during the Christmas week, the Virgin Atlantic Airline offered a 40 per cent discount on their tickets, which attracted a record number of passengers. Therefore, just by imposing more taxes on flights alone will not be able to solve the pollution issue. As a possible solution to the issue, authorities could look upto the Research and Development of new engine types, which has less carbon-footprints or emits water as a by-product like in Hydrogen Engines. To sum up, undoubtedly, the earth's environment is deteriorating day-by-day, but by increasing taxes on flights cannot stop passengers by using it, because it is convenient to use and it saves time too. As a solution, we can shift our focus on developing innovative technologies, which could reduce the pollution.