Nowadays the way many people interact with one another has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In our contemporary era, the means, methods, and types of equipment used to communicate have altered significantly due to technological advancements in the recent century. These fresh tools have not only brought new ways to interact but also empowered us with more accessibility and freedom of how, when and who to keep in contact with. I am in favour of the notion that these technologies have had more pros and they outweigh minor drawbacks, giving us a sense of control and independence. On the one hand, increased connectivity has allowed people to maintain their connection with their long-distance partners or family members. For example, technologies such as smartphones, video call applications, and social media have allowed humankind to use instant messaging, enabled regular communication, and omitted the geographical distance between us. Another plus side is that these advancements have not only facilitated the formation of online communities but also made it more convenient, where people with shared interests or opinions can interact, making us feel more connected and part of a more extensive network. On the other hand, perspectives towards relationships, family and friendship have changed remarkably, shifting towards more online communication. In addition, the new generation nowadays refers to online communities, such as Reddit or Quora, as a reference for learning how to build up their boundaries in social interactions. In contrast, in the past, parents were responsible for teaching communication skills or even dating methods. For instance, online dating applications have transformed romantic relationships by opening opportunities to meet a wider range of potential partners than traditional dating ways. Some even argue that these new methods have jeopardised the chance of finding everlasting love. All in all, communication plays a crucial role in our day-to-day lives. Therefore, just like any other aspect of our societal life, how it can be conducted has been updated. It's important to remember that with any advantage comes a disadvantage, but it is vital to notice the convenience and comfort they have brought before criticising prejudicially. This balanced view keeps us informed and helps us make better decisions in our use of technology.