In many countries, parents are deciding to have children later in their lives. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, early fertility in the age of twenties has been widely delayed until the age of thirty or so in many young couples all over the world. While this trend may reduce the birth rate and worsen the ageing problem, I believe that giving birth later in life could bring more benefits to families and society as well. On the one hand, a few disadvantages of having children late in life could be named as birth rate reduction and the ageing problem. Those problems have become worrying and alarming in some developed countries whe we re late marriage has been a sacrifice for personal career growth and prioritized economic development among young generations for decades. Some typical examples following this tendency could be Canada, England, and Japan, which are famous for being in great need of importing foreign labourers. As a result, the later people give birth, the worse the ageing problem and reduced birth rate in big countries can become. On the other hand, the advantages of late fertility are likely to be more persuasive for it to become a trend in the late 20th and 21st centuries nowadays. Firstly, it gives youngsters more time for financial preparation for future families. In the context of economic crisis today, higher social demands and much more sophisticated requirements from the labour market towards workers' skills, effort and knowledge, it is understandable and unavoidable that the young delay their fertility for a few years to develop their careers and save up enough before entering a family life. Hence, giving birth late is beneficial at an individual level. In addition, this trend could also contribute to society by lowering the rate of divorce. Apparently, divorcing is an unwanted problem and has grown a lot of concerns nowadays. According to some social researchers, some of the top reasons for divorce are financial pressure and lifestyle disagreements. The former reason could be dealt with when people have gained stable jobs before tying the knot as mentioned above while the latter one could also be solved as people have become mentally and psychologically mature enough to have horn sharing and active listening skills to reach a positive solution and to accept ups and downs in marriage life instead of aggressively end up marriage as some young immatured couples might do. In other words, family life requires a lot of patience and practice and giving birth later helps people to be mentally and psychologically prepared. Thanks to the reduced divorce rate, society benefits. In conclusion, while there are certain drawbacks of having children late in life such as a reduced birth rate and the ageing problem, I do believe that this trend has more positive effects for individuals and society in the interest of providing our offspring with a better future.