Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been a noticeable debate among people comparing the purposes of learning a second language and its impact on various aspects of our lives. A group of individuals present the view that the only reason for mastering a foreign tongue is to visit or engage in professional activities abroad, whereas others believe that these are not the only motivations for learning a new language. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. In this essay, I will explain both views. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that understanding a second language, such as English, leads to improving their knowledge in various ways, such as reading international articles or watching educational documentaries on the internet. For example, if students study numerous worldwide resources besides their local books, they will be more informed about a subject. Furthermore, it can boost their communication skills. Hence, individuals easily connect with tourists and foreign people, and it is a positive way to solve the problems of language barriers. So their countries will attract more tourists and it is a good source of revenue for governments. On the other hand, another group of people claims that the only benefit of foreign dialects is for finding global careers and travelling abroad. They insist that mastering a different language expands job opportunities in the international markets and developed countries. In addition, it helps people travel overseas without worrying about verbal barriers. However, I do not find this argument convincing as I think even though the benefits of speaking a foreign tongue for professional purposes and travel are undeniable. Even so, it has various advantages, and we should not limit these positive impacts to just two reasons. Additionally, knowing a new language is essential for communicating, having high educational levels, training new skills, and researching. To conclude, in my view, educating different languages individuals to expand their knowledge and perspectives. Moreover, they can connect with tourists. Additionally, its advantages should not be limited just to travel and career advancement, but also a new language enhances creativity, fosters communication skills, and helps people pursue higher education.