The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is often thought by some people that English, which is now the most widely spoken language in the world, may one day replace all other languages and result in their disappearance. Having one language would certainly help understanding and economic growth but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit to having one global language is it would enable greater understanding between countries. In other words, if everyone spoke one language, there would be complete understanding between not only countries but all people throughout the world, which would promote learning, the flow of information and ideas. Another reason that one language would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same language, there would be fewer barriers and therefore trade would flow easier between countries, resulting in a healthier world economy. On the other hand, there are downsides to having only one global language. Firstly, it would mean that all other languages would eventually disappear and, along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys this world has to offer. Each culture is unique with its own way of life and own perspectives of the world which would all be lost if there were only one language. Secondly, it would result in the collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest if all countries had the same languages and similar cultures. This would devastate many countries economically that rely on tourism as a source of income. In conclusion, while there are benefits to having one global language, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.