In recent years, the rise of ebooks causes the decline in paper books. Some people argue this is a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In our modern society, ebooks are used more frequently than paper-based manuscripts. This essay argues that the advantages of that change are the eco-friendly features of ebooks and their suitability for students whilst the disadvantages are the lack of charm while reading on screen and the health issues relative to it. It is crystal clear that electronic books are environmentally friendly. In fact, paper is manufactured from wood. In this regard, the destruction of an overwhelming quantity of trees is avoided thanks to the development of the digital format. Furthermore, ebooks are seen as more suitable and more reliable. This is because a paper-based manual can be lost or damaged over time on the contrary to electronic books. In addition, it is possible for learners to carry numerous manuals in their computers, without carrying the burden of dozens of books in their backpacks. For instance, med-students tend to use their computer in order to have access to a multitude of manuscripts when they go study at the library. However, it is fair to showcase the inconvenience of this terrific breakthrough.Indeed, reading and learning on physical books keeps a certain charm. Many readers claim that they are pleased by paper-based books and not virtual ones. Moreover, staying long hours in front of screens can be unhealthy and may induce eye illness because of the fact that the blue rays emitted, are responsible for many diseases. For example,the retina, which is the background of the ocular globe, is likely to be harmed due to a long exposition to blue rays. In conclusion, the benefits of ebooks are the fact that it is respectful regarding our planet and convenient for students. Even though, it may never replace the pleasure of studying on a physical manual it may be unhealthy.But it is noteworthy to say that people have to welcome progress instead of denying it.