You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. You should write at least 250 words.

Due to the adverse effect of smoking on the community health, it is widely argued that smoking should be stopped in the public gathering areas. I totally agree with this idea because of the massive effect it has on human beings. In this essay, I will explain my thoughts followed by examples. To commence with, prohibiting smoking can save human life because of the side effects that may arise from it, solely to the persons who are smoking. However, individuals near smokers are more influenced. The reason for the multiple effects is that cigarette smoke fills the inside, so to some extent, the residual damage will be less. Moreover, some elderly people with chronic illnesses cannot tolerate the bad components of cigarette emissions; this would be harmful to them. For example, in recent years, some countries acknowledged the consequences of smoking, thereby a lot of countries around the world tend to allocate special regions for smokers as airports or shopping malls. The reason behind categorizing smoking as a negative habit that needs to be banned is its consequences as it could lead to serious disorders that end with death. Some fatal diseases that result from it could be oral cancer, liver cirrhosis, or lung cancer. Furthermore, treatment for ill patients will add a substantial burden on government health expenses. For that reason, most nations worldwide have taken actions toward reducing smoker percentages in their society in order to mitigate the possible consequences. For example, most recent studies published by WHO revealed that smoking is the major cause of high mortality rates in the world. In conclusion, I believe that smoking prohibition should be decreed in order to overcome the diseases that result from it and consume money that is utilized for treating patients who suffer from smoking consequences to other sectors. I think passive smoking is more dangerous to people’s lives, not only affecting the smoker.