As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the internet has a significant impact on how people access and read information, including news. With the proliferation of the internet, some argue that the tradition of reading the newspapers is becoming obsolete, and I agree with this statement. One of the major reasons behind the lack of interest in reading newspapers is the accessibility of the internet and the use of electronic devices. The daily use of computers and phones, and easy access to the internet through WiFi or mobile phone data have made online news reading very convenient. For example, new agencies frequently post updates online including social media pages, and people can easily keep themselves updated with the news through notifications and alerts. Therefore, due to the flexibility of accessing information online, people feel less need to read a newspaper. Another reason for newspapers to become less popular is that most of the headlines are free to read online and can be easily shared. Free links to news articles can be found while scrolling through social media or searching on Google, which can also be shared with other people. For instance, it takes no time for an important headline to go viral on social media, and people can quickly forward the news links to their friends and relatives. So, the online medium has become popular to read and share news because it is free and convenient. In conclusion, the modern world has seen a major shift in terms of accessing the news through the internet. Even though newspapers can provide more accurate information, reading online new articles has become more popular as it offers flexibility and convenience in terms of reading and sharing the news.