The greater proportion of government's budget should be allocated to disease prevention and health education because prevention is better than cure. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the government should stipulate a higher proportion of its financial budget to health education and prevention of diseases. I strongly agree with this viewpoint as creating awareness and prevention will help to lead a healthy lifestyle. Moreover, it will reduce financial unstability due to hospital bills. To start with, in recent times due to their their hectic schedules, people are highly prone to diseases because of unhygenic eating habits, disrupted sleep times. Hence, a large amount of population suffers from disorders like hypertention, diabetes which are life threatening. Imparting education to the public is beneficial to treat the problem at its root cause. Therefore, running awareness campaigns about importance of healthy lifestyle and diet, physical activities, adequate sleep schedule will ultimately lead to reduced incidences of health conditions namely stroke and obesity. As an illustration, obesity and its medical consequences which are caused by consumption of fastfoods can be irradicated completely if people adopt healthy changes in their life. Additionally, prevention of diseases not only has physical merits but also has financial advantages to the families as well as the nation. It is worth noting that, staying fit results in less frequent hospital bills. Therefore, the financial stress on breadwinners in the family is lessened. In a broader perspective, the governning authorities can spend less on the medical subsidies and schemes resulting in diversion of the funds where required. For example, the financial budget spend on medical schemes can be utilised to uplift employment opportunities and educational setups leading to rapid economic growth. For example, preventing substance abuse like consumption of alcohol and tobacco will save huge amount of money spent on expensive cancer treatment. To summarize, prevention and educating the citizens about importance of disease free life has enormous benefits namely reduced monetary strain and less risks of fatal diseases. Consequently, it is highly recommended that government bodies must reserve higher funds for treating the root causes rather than curing the diseases.