In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students’ abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

It is argued in many countries around the world that evaluation of students ' potential does not determine their educational success by their performance in exams. I think the disadvantages are more than advantages because exams only not a reliable method to evaluate students, and there are many factors that could shape their future despite their academic level. Initially, testing learners gives a general idea about their academic educational path. It is solely concerning an academic part. It does not engage their weaknesses nor their strength, which figures their future as well. By knowing their interest and their talent, it could be helpful more than exams. For example, some students are talented in math, so this could lead to being engineers. Sometimes relying on exams only could be unfair because the result appears by human beings. Moreover, sometimes students fail to obtain a good mark due to some situation like illness and some mistakes during the collection of exams. For instance, in years ago during domination of White American citizens, some teachers were criticized their students or gave them lower marks below what they deserve because of racism. Assessment of students ’ capability by depending on exams only has drawbacks no more than the benefits. Exams do not assess learners' personality, which is more vital in their educational success and their professional career path after graduation. For example, due to lower degrees in secondary schools, some graduated learners tend to choose low college, as noticed most of influencers have become famous and influent in their communities, although some of them may be leaders in their countries. Additionally, some businessmen who discontinued their studies, they become rich and own successful companies. Conclusion: In conclusion, in my perspective exams not only tool to predict students ’ academic success, it depends on many factors that exams consider as subjective manner. I think their personality and preferences may be much beneficial than exams alone.