In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Adaptation of a healthy lifestyle has exuberantly improved the longevity of lives by more than 2 decades in many countries like Japan. Certain cohorts of people believe that it has a negative impact whereas others perceive it as a positive trend. In the upcoming paragraphs, I shall explore the argument on both sides reviewing both perks and perils of the old population. To commence with, the old people are considered as a treasure house of knowledge and wisdom enriching the company and society irrefutably. An experienced aficionado will be in an unequivocally better position to deal with matters of the company through his experience and skill as compared to equally qualified youngster. Secondly, Geriatric population can provide with immense support in the conventional household environment by babysitting and nurturing the infants as most couples are working in the today’s contemporary world, also encouraging the cultural values to be instilled in the grandchildren. For instance, a grandmother can take care of her toddler grandchildren as well as support in instilling familial heritage and teaching basic learning as well. On the contrary unfortunately, some inevitable challenges are inherently associated with the process of ageing which might get compounded by a surging old population burdening fragile health care and government economy. As people age they are more vulnerable and prone to suffer from a plethora of diseases burdening the health care infrastructure, similarly most government employees are provided with pensions, so the duration is likely to upsurge as the longevity has enhanced overburdening the financial sector. To conclude, although there are issues of economic overburden by the government. however, the wisdom and skill shared with the knowledge contributed by the elderly are indispensable to the society.