Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Please discuss the two views and give your own opinion.

There are two approaches regarding history. The first one perceives history has nothing to do with present time. However, the second opinion says that history is a very important framework to understand current condition. This essay will elaborate both of the views. History has its own context such as culture, technology, nature, and others. Therefore, what happened in the past was a reaction of its context. This argument become the base of the first group of thought's argument. For example, a lot of tortures of black people in the US occured a long time ago when there were values regarding slavery. The white people thought that they could do whatever they want to their slaves which were black women and men because they owned them. We do not have this situation anymore since slavery is forbidden in the US. The second group see it on the other way around. Even though slavery is not exist anymore these days, discrimination cause by skin colours still happened in many corners of this world. Therefore, we must study history in order to solve that problem. How the US people could change from having racial thought to support equality between human is an important lesson learned. I am more incline to the second opinion. I think, even though there are some changes in technology and culture, but the main actor: human are still the same. We still have the same emotions, biases, and way of thinking. Therefore, it is important to learn how human behave in the past in order to understand today.