Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that former prisoners who have had good behaviour are the perfect people to talk to teenagers in order to prevent the rise of crimes. This essay totally agrees with that statement. I believe that the experience they have is essential to make the future adults about the dangers of some actions they will have the choice to do. Moreover, the fact these people are completely strangers to the teens would lead to a much more serious conversation. Old detainees, who have certainly started their life of banditry at the same period as the young ones they are talking with, would easily put them in the youth’s place. Additionally, I can imagine the teenagers would be encouraged to ask questions that are maybe essential to start their adult life and which the minors would not dare to demand from their parents or even their teachers. For example, some studies show that 76% of youngsters under 16 are more likely to talk about their first sexual experiences to their friends rather than to do it to their parents and/or teachers. In addition, in the same kind of ideas, speaking with someone he does not know, might not limit him to dealing with the most intimate subjects as it would be the only time he will see the interlocutor. To conclude, in my opinion, thanks to the errors the former prisoners have already made younger and the fact they are complete foreigners for those youngsters. Thus, these new model citizens are the perfect people to have a discussion with the future holders of the world of tomorrow.