Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

The abundance of advertisements today has become a pressing issue amongst customers. I agree that the advanced promotion of the product or service leads to buyers` desire to pay for this item and, therefore, to overconsumption. In this essay, I will share my opinion on the effect of ads on consumer behaviour and propose vital measures to decrease this influence. To start with, people tend to underestimate the effect of the advertisement on their purchases. The truth is that the role of social proof in advertisements is more profound than it might seem, as human beings are biased by the testimonials of famous people on various products and services. For example, once Lisa from the girl group Blackpink revealed her sweatshirt brand, which was Louis Vuitton, in the airport, and the next day the garment was out of stock because fans of Lisa bought all the items available. It means that celebrity endorsement enhances brand awareness and increases sales drastically. Moreover, marketing nowadays developed a host of complex and multifaceted strategies to capture the customers` attention. So, targeted ads and social media algorithms shape consumer choices and, thus, psychologically manipulate people to spend money on their products. To address these marketing tactics aimed at receiving the customers` attention, to is necessary to teach buyers about how to make informed choices using critical thinking. Delving into details, there is a discipline named behavioural economics, where competent professionals can introduce different types of product or service promotion. By including such lessons in the educational programs, the potential buyers become more knowledgeable about advertisements and, thus, consumers are able to protect themselves. Secondly, the age of digitalization has already launched various ad-blockers to eliminate the number of unwanted advertisements. With the help of these apps, a community can change privacy settings so as not to be exposed to annoying ads. In conclusion, I find it necessary to emphasise the fact that the consumers` choice depends on marketing promotion in the modern world. As a matter of fact, to reduce the influence, people should be taught about advertising tactics and how to make informed choices. Besides, cut-edge applications, called ad-blockers, alleviate the strain on the customers by decreasing most manipulative promotions.