Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that in their free time, teenagers should work for free in order to contribute for the well-being of their community. While some think it would help at the same time the society and the teenager, some argue that it is a waste of time to ask such thing to teenagers if they are not getting paid. It is true that young adults could be a great use to help the local community but they should get paid at least a bare minimum. Indeed, around their teens years, they are starting to build their future, inter the labor world. Most of them, right after high school, will leave the house and go study abroad, they will need to be financial independent. For instance, a survey, conducted by the University of New York in 2019 that 98% of the students who are financial independent worked when they were around 15 years old. Although some do not see the purpose of it, others do. Most of the teenagers, on their spare time scroll Change the form of the verb scrolling show examples on their phones, play video games, disconnect completely with the world they live in. They could be a huge help for their local community but also help them socialize with other people with whom they would not naturally be with. For example, kids who are quite shy, by working in this way could allow them to express themselves fully in a different environment and feel helpful to others. To conclude, while some do no see the purpose for teen to do unpaid work, others do. I strongly agree with those who do. Additionally, unpaid work in local community should not only concern teens but adults as well.