Some people say that cars should be banned from city centres. Do you agree or disagree.

It has been suggested by some individuals cars ought to be restricted from the centres of urban areas. This trend is likely to bring benefits to city residents which could beat up the issues related to car associations. One of the main advantages is that reducing a number of cars in city centres will reduce the traffic congestion. During peak hours, traffic jams lead to an increase the commuting times longer than expected as well as a high level of anxiety among drivers. For example, this practice has been implemented in Japan, for a specific time period in a week, resulting in people starting to rely on public transport on a daily basis. Additionally, the condition of public transport is supposed to be better and help to flow of traffic congestion. Besides this, banning cars from the city centres will impact positively on the environment. If the number of cars is restricted in the central area, then the harmful emissions from cars such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen oxide will also drop, which is likely to reduce pollution on a larger scale. Moreover, dwellers could also get relief from numerous diseases caused by gas emissions including asthma and the respiratory system. As a consequence, it will not only improve the health of their residents but also noise pollution in that area are expected to reduce. Furthermore, pedestrians will feel more safe while cycling or just exploring the local shops by foot traffic because it will drop the number of accidents. Commuters will prefer to shop from local shops and likely get a chance to develop their business and it will also affect positively on tourism. Owing to an increase in foot traffic, will boost the economy by developing good infrastructure. In conclusion, banning cars from the city will bring more merits rangings from reducing traffic jams, pedestrians safety and their health. It is recommended that authorities should not only rely on this idea, but also find some alternatives as well, to beat up the traffic and pollution in urban areas.