Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

The topic of whether personality is born with or developed from life experience has been a topic of debate for many years. Some people believe that we are born with personal characteristics that shape our lives, while others argue that life experiences play a more important role in character building. In my opinion, though both factors are important in influencing our personality, I believe later life experiences have a major impact. On the one hand, genetic traits undoubtedly play a big part in the foundation of personality. For instance, being an introvert or extrovert is often linked to genetics. There are twins that were raised in the same way and have similar life experiences but have completely different characters. Additionally, talents like intelligence, music or sports capability are born with as well. This can influence people’s life perspective in an early age that shaped different character of lives. On the other hand, life experience plays the major role in building people’s personality and character. There are numerous psychology researches and experiments indicating the influence from early life experience to one’s emotional security. For example, babies who are being ignored of their basic needs in an early age tended to develop an insecure character in their adult life, which they are not able to trust other people and build stable relationship. Apart from family life experience, the wider social and cultural environment also has great impact of how the person perceive the world. To conclude, though genetic traits provided a solid foundation in one’s personality and character, life experience from family and wider social and cultural world played a more important role in developing people’s personality.