Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Experts throughout the world have debated on keeping animal parks. Some sections of society hold an opinion that animals should not be confined to zoos whereas others consider that there are valid reasons for maintaining zoos. This essay will discuss both viewpoints with relevant examples including my perspective in the conclusion. On the one hand, the first and foremost reason to advocate that animals should not be caged is freedom. In other words, animals are also a part of nature and deserve equal freedom of living and should not be used for entertainment purposes. Secondly, there are more chances that creatures could lose their abilities when locked up for a long time. To simplify, in forests, hunting is the main source of food but when it comes to zoos creatures get served by the workers which means no hunting is needed and they lose their hunting skills. For example, it was studied by Oxford University, a bird was kept in prison for a half decade and when the cage opened after, she could not fly because of a loss of procedural memory about how to fly. On the other hand, there are several points to support the notion of having zoos, the primary motive is to conserve endangered species. In simple terms, plenty of species which are disappearing year by year are being conserved by animal parks to save their existence. The secondary motive is for educational purposes. People can visualise the theories and can gather more information about various kinds of species which helps them to remember more than reading in the books. For example, in schools, teachers encourage schools to organise a trip to the zoo when they learn about wildlife to make them properly understand and to help weak children learn. In a nutshell,in my point of view, liberty should be given to wildlife animals to let them live freely in their dwellings. However, to save special species and for education, zoos should be maintained.