Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that economic development benefits all societies, while others tend to think there are more demerits in this trend when it disrupts some social values. In this essay, I will delve into this topic to provide reasonable arguments for and against economic progress. To begin, I believe that improving people's living standards can be achieved via economic growth. As for the benefits, better living principles are usually considered the main goal of each government. There is no denying the fact that communities do not care about, for example, their mental health or environment when they are not provided with food and water. Economic development is usually a good way to overcome such pressing issues. Giving a specific example, African countries concentrate on dealing with famine via enhanced economic decisions. Additionally, a facilitated economy provides more taxes for governments, and furthermore, more financial resources to foster public goods. For instance, with higher tax rates in Germany, the country introduced cutting-edge technologies, which has recently put the state in first place in medicine. On the other hand, an enhanced economic situation sometimes leads to vital social values’ erosion. Firstly, an improved economy requires more working force, so people have to spend a great amount of time working. This in turn results in potential burnout and mental problems, as a person cannot relieve stress properly. In South Korea, as an illustration, there are extremely high suicide rates because of the lack of leisure time. Moreover, environmental problems arise with the rise in the country's economy. For instance, China has one of the highest GDPs nowadays, but the amount of greenhouse gas emissions is also substantial in this state. So, with high living principles, the citizenry is not provided with clean air in some cities, which is an unparalleled drawback of such high-speed progress. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize the fact that a better economy still offers more advantages than disadvantages. Even though there are ecology downhills and decreased quantity and quality of people’s free time, progress helps to increase government spending on public and fight longstanding problems. I propose to strike a balance between living standards improvement and its impact on some societal contributions to alleviate potential disparities.