Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

High school graduates are encouraged to take a gap year before attending university. Although taking a year off may contribute to the risk of losing academic momentum, it also offers the benefits of improving life skills from working experience and knowledge from travel. It must be recognized that students can get hands-on experience from early exposure to the working environment during this period. Once they get engaged in the internship, interacting with co-workers helps them enhance practical skills such as communication and responsibility, which are beneficial for their future careers and academic performance. Consequently, after quitting these jobs, students can apply it in higher education, making their studies more effective. Another advantageous factor of this trend is the knowledge gained from travel. In other words, teenagers can be exposed to different ways of life and cultures, therefore broadening their horizons as a result of overseas trips. For instance, Japanese students frequently journey to Western nations to broaden their perspectives, which aids them in comprehending the world. Thus, the knowledge they grasp from a gap year fosters a sense of independence and intelligence. On the downside, certain teens may feel like they are falling behind after taking a year off. To be more specific, this feeling happens when they have to study with younger people or see their friends graduate sooner than them. Moreover, a year away from formal education can also make them struggle to readjust to the demands of university. Therefore, a feeling of being pushed back created by peer pressure is unavoidable, making students become stressed. This is a misunderstanding as this gap year actually equips them with useful skills and knowledge that puts them years ahead, not behind. In conclusion, the opportunity to gain vital skills and knowledge outweighs the possible impact of losing track of knowledge. Hence, having a gap year can be more beneficial for teenagers before commencing with tertiary education.