Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some people think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from eco-tourism? What measures can be taken to protect local culture and communities?

Some individuals argue that eco-tourism disrupts local systems and values. This essay will outline the challenges of such an activity, followed by my solutions to eliminate its effects. To start with, this modern type of tourism poses many challenges to local communities. Firstly, people from other cities impose their lifestyle on traditional households. Many travellers do not follow instructions and, furthermore, ignore the quiet pace of living in ecological areas. Moreover, visitors pollute environment by throwing out garbage and emitting greenhouse gases. For example, in Karelia, a Russian region, the citizens of some eco-friendly towns and villages blame travellers for the enormous amounts of litter in local rivers. Even though non-locals are trying to prevent pollution, some garbage inevitably appears in nature. On the other hand, some measures could be implemented to reduce the tourists' impact on local communities. As a solution, I propose to introduce a fee system which will punish those who do not obey the rules. For instance, there is a sufficient fee for all the individuals who come to Singapore in case they violate social norms. This country is considered the cleanest and safest in the world. Besides, eco-tourism management should hire more staff to monitor its visitors. There is no denying the fact that violation rates will be reduced this way. In conclusion, I want to emphasize the fact that traditional cultures are highly contingent on the tourists' flow. Except for the different types of pollution, travellers also change the lifestyle of locals. On the contrary, both the government should participate in tourism law enforcement and eco-businesses themselves have to provide human resources to prevent cultural erosion.