One long-distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution.So some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world and with the industrial rise, pollution is at an all-time high. Some people argue that one way for society to decrease the volume of pollution is by discouraging the overuse of airplanes for unnecessary trips, as one of such trips might use up fuel that a car would use in a week, while others still believe that limiting car usage is a better option. In my opinion, I believe that limiting the usage of cars would be easier to implement and thus will yield better results. The idea of decreasing plane utilization on paper sounds like a good solution as some trips that people go on to can be considered a luxury and deemed non-essential, like tourism or business meetings that can be carried online. Moreover, in theory, as planes use significantly larger amounts of fuel compared to cars, it would be more beneficial to limit them rather than discouraging cars. On the other hand, and while the arguments for limiting planes might sound great as ideas, it might prove hard to apply, as airplanes as a method of transport are quite unique and have many advantages that make them harder to replace, such as the ability to travel huge distances that might span continents, whereas distances covered by cars could also be covered with other options, as bikes, trams, or buses, making cars more disposable. To conclude, with the increasing concerns regarding our environment, solutions to the pollution problem must be found. While both sides of the argument make solid points, trying to manage car usage seems like the better option from my point of view, with higher chances of being successful and effective in real life.