In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic?

It is true that ambition is an indispensable factor in being successful in life. As countries develop, society becomes relatively competitive which strengthens the importance of ambition. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand neutrally with the ambitious personality as it can be a merit to whatever fields but sometimes it will isolate relationships between people. Initially,one of the main arguments in favour of ambition is that skyrocketed social development has contributed to a highly competitive environment which emphasizes the characteristics of ambition. Furthermore, the will toward success results in imprisonment and accelerates the growth of industries. For example, thanks to the excellence of technological innovation, people nowadays can enjoy the convenience of diverse electronic devices. Therefore, ambition indeed plays a vital role in public progress. At the other end of the spectrum, the quick pace of society considerably enhances individual burdens as people are requested to get with the times.As a sense of competition grows stronger with the tendency, the isolation between individuals will be in direct proportion for the sake of personal benefits. Hence, an ambitious personality is likely to bring about pressure in relationships and somehow extend the distance between individuals. To sum up, despite the fact that ambition has been a significant factor in being successful.Its demerits in relationships cannot be ignored. Under the pressure of following the global trend, ambition motivates individuals to improve but mentally isolates crowds as well. Thus, it will be better to set up a balanced boundary between individual profits and maintaining connections with others.