More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Private cars are increasingly becoming the main mode of transportation. Some people heavily rely on their cars, which causes a few issues such as traffic congestion and air pollution. This essay will further explain details on the problems rooted in this trend, and also my personal opinion on how to provide alternatives for using personal vehicles. With more cars on the roads, it is inevitable to have a severe traffic jam,especially in large cities, which also accumulate an enormous amount of harmful gases and substances within the area. For example, Bangkok is currently facing a dangerous air quality problem every year from very fine dust, PM 2.5. One of the sources of the dust is a residual of incomplete combustion from diesel engines. Therefore, the more people use their own vehicles, the more air-polluted substances emit into the environment. Consequently, the Government, whether central administration or local authorities, should establish a long-term plan to build an efficient and affordable railway system throughout all areas in order to promote more public transport usage. As in Bangkok, there are ongoing construction projects to enlarge the railway system. With three more rail lines opened in recent years, the traffic on the roads along those lines has apparently decreased. So, with the convenience of public transport, people would rely on the car less. In conclusion, Overcrowded roads and environmental pollution issues are the most obvious effects of the mainstream use of private cars. The solution is a better means to travel around the city, which should be provided by the related authorities. A smaller number of cars results in better air quality and less time for travelling.