Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

While some people believe that there should be conventional punishment for all types of crime, others disagree and state that the circumstances and motivations for committing the crime should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. In some cases, the first approach may be good, as it reduces arguments about the harshness of the punishment. For example, perhaps we have a controversial situation where the criminal may be judged in hundreds of different ways, as the committed crime is controversial. At that point, with such a system, there would be consensus on the punishment among the people, as it is fixed. Moreover, the fixed punishment system would motivate people not to commit any type of crime. For instance, in the Greek democratic regime, people were punished in the same way no matter how bad the crime was. On the other hand, others may disagree with such a system, as it may be considered unfair, and I agree with this statement because it would clearly not be fair to have the same punishment for a person who committed a robbery and a person who only thought of committing it. While both situations are immoral and require fast action, one is worse than the other, which means that the punishment level must be measured respectively. Furthermore, while fixed punishments for all types of crime may make the decision-making process easier and faster, it lacks efficiency, as it is irrelevant in most cases. In conclusion, while some support the idea of fixed punishments, not everyone agrees with that.