Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras. In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, one of the topics of discussion is if technology can be used for monitoring people meanwhile they are using their electronic devices. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to argue why the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, this type of technology is very useful for intelligent services like the police or the military institution, because it can be used to track any electronic devices, like cellphones, computers or security cameras. For example, if the FBI needs to investigate a potential suspect from a crime organization it has to be able to have these electronic tools. If this is not the case, how they are going to find all the necessary information to locate criminals. However, this type of technology has its downfalls, because many digital users do not know that they are being tracked or that their personal info is being seen by other individuals. This is not just that intelligent services have the data of many of us, it is that our information can be seen by a lot of people or enterprises that why do not know about. For instance, there is an internet market that sells our cookies (data users), and this has to be regulated by governments. In conclusion, in my opinion, institutions (like police forces) need to have the tools to access our personal information, but only if this is necessary for an investigation. In addition, governments should make policies that create a secure environment in the digital area that prevents user's data to not being vulnerable.