The only way to improve road safety is to give striker punishment to driving offences. To what extent do you aree or disagree?

Nowadays, streets and highways are becoming more threatening to drive on than in the early 21st century. The major reason is due to a lack of penalties and punishments that are being imposed on individuals who play a major role in diminishing people's happiness while travelling. I firmly believe that, if the government introduce more stringent rules for the public who don't follow the best transport practices, there will be a tremendous dip in the number of severe accidents and fatal injuries. Firstly, major cities across the world have seen a considerable rise in life-threatening incidents on the road, and the primary factor that causes a careless attitude towards this issue is the poor road safety measures that currently exist. For instance, in Canada, if a person is speeding, the maximum penalty he needs to face is just a few dollars. This enables them to repeat the same mistakes very often. A recent study conducted by the Indian government on road safety by taking public opinions on the current punishments for driving offences. They found out that the majority of the public are unsatisfied with the lenient regulations and penalties that Indian transport authorities give to suspects who create the issue. The most prominent way that general bodies can adapt to reduce these accidents and the ignorance by the public on the transport policies is by forming more restrictions on the speed limit in major highways and cities with more number of narrow streets. The federal institutions should provide at least 1 year of Jail sentence to whoever fails to adhere to the rules and regulations. To summarise, the Public should always have the liberty to drive freely as they wish. However, it should not cause any disturbance to the public. If the government found that the individuals are breaking the policies, then they have to be penalised with severe punishments that should create awareness among commoners, as well as people who create problems should be frightened to do it in future. This will eventually lead us to a safer environment where everyone can have a peaceful journey.