University students should pay the full cost of their studies because a university education benefits individuals rather than society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that university fees should be supported entirely by students because schooling benefits individuals rather than the community. This essay disagrees completely with that statement and aims to showcase why third-level education is beneficial for everyone. It is conspicuous that university education is advantageous for the whole society because of the fact that countries need skilful workers. Indeed, it is consequential to mention that these institutions were established by the government in order to respond to some specific needs. For example, the renowned University of Architecture of Paris was established in the 18th century as the country was in need of architects. Furthermore, people who graduate from these third-level education establishments become independent and reliable citizens because they contribute, through taxes, to their national economy and prosperity. On the other hand, many claim that getting diplomas is exclusively beneficial for graduates. Moreover, they urge the government to stop helping those students to cover their tuition fees. However, it is crystal clear that the so-called " society " is a fictional institution which designates the whole community.In fact, we are all part of this society which needs successful people instead of jobless citizens. Therefore, increasing the cost of studies could induce a surge in the unemployment rate, which may be detrimental to our society. In conclusion, it is ridiculous to claim that helping students to pay their studies is only advantageous for them.The truth is, that nations need qualified citizens who may support the heavy burden of challenges such as dealing with environmental issues. Hence, by helping ourselves, we ineluctably enhance our society.